Sunday, December 1, 2019

Books: "Nine Elms" By Robert Bryndza

Nine Elms: A Kate Marshall Thriller
By Robert Bryndza
Thomas & Mercer; hardcover, $24.95; paperback, $15.95; Kindle, $4.99; available today, Sunday, December 1

Robert Bryndza is the author of the Detective Erika Foster series, which includes the Number 1 bestseller The Girl in the Ice, as well as The Night Stalker, Dark Water, Last Breath, Cold Blood, and Deadly Secrets. He has sold over three million copies of his books, which have been translated into 29 languages. 

Bryndza's new thriller series centers on former detective-turned private investigator Kate Marshall, and debuts with Nine Elms.

Kate is still haunted by the scandal that clouded her victorious capture of the notorious Nine Elms serial killer and ended her career fifteen years ago. Now a lecturer at a small coastal English university, and she is doing her best to take care of her young sun but, given the trauma she experienced in her past, she must lean on her mother for assistance.

A copycat takes up the work of the Nine Elms killer, and more bodies turn up under eerily familiar circumstances. This shatters Kate's quiet life, and she enlists her brilliant research assistant, Tristan Harper, plus draws on her prodigious and long-neglected skills to catch this new monster.

Rules that constricted Kate as a police detective do not apply in the private sector, and she hopes that success will bring redemption, but there is a lot more at stake.

Kate was the original killer's intended fifth victim, and his successor is determined to finish the job.

Bryndza found inspiration for this relationship between heroine and charming psychopath from the complex and psychologically twisted relationship between Clarice Starling and Dr. Hannibal Lecter in Thomas Harris' The Silence  of the Lambs.

Nine Elms is chilling, atmospheric, and riveting, a book sure to delight Bryndza's legions of fans.

No comments:

Post a Comment