Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Seton Hall's Myles Powell Wins Haggerty Award

Myles Powell. 

Seton Hall junior guard Myles Powell has been named the 2019 recipient of the Lieutenant Frank J. Haggerty Award as the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Player of the Year, the organization announced Tuesday morning.

Powell will be honored Tuesday night at the 86th annual MBWA Haggerty Awards Dinner at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

Powell averaged 23.1 points per game to lead the Pirates to their fourth straight NCAA Tournament appearance.
Powell is Seton Hall's 13th all-time Haggerty Award winner and the third in the last four years, joining Angel Delgado (2017) and Isaiah Whitehead (2016).
Powell's incredible season included eclipsing 20 points 23 times out of 34 games, reaching 30 points eight times and scoring a career-high 40 points against Grand Canyon. His scoring average ranks 13th in the nation, third among student-athletes who compete in "Basketball Six" conferences, and second in the Big East.
Powell rose to the occasion when his team needed him the most. He scored 28 points in The Hall's win over No. 9 Kentucky. He had 27 points in a road win over Maryland. He had 25 points and a career-high eight assists in a road win at Xavier. He poured in 31 points in a win over Providence to snap a four-game losing streak. Then to close the regular season, he had 34 points, including 10 in a game-ending 18-0 run, and five assists in a win over No. 16 Marquette and followed up with 20 points, seven rebounds, five assists and three steals in the victory over No. 23 Villanova.
In the Big East Tournament, Powell put on a show at Madison Square Garden, scoring 78 points, the eighth-highest total in tournament history. His 29 points in the first half of the quarterfinal win over Georgetown set a new tournament record. He helped the Pirates to a runner-up finish and was named to the All-Tournament team.
In addition to finishing second in the conference in scoring, Powell was second in steals (2.0 per game), third in three-pointers made per game (3.1) and fifth in free throw shooting (.840). Nationally, all of those numbers rank in the top 35.
Powell's year has been one of the greatest in Seton Hall single-season history. He has 784 points, which is fourth-highest in Pirates single-season history and the highest in the Big East era (since 1979). His 107 three-pointers made are the most any Pirate has ever made in one season, and his 173 free throws made are tied for 11th all-time.
Powell is also making his mark in the career record book. He is now 12th all-time in scoring with 1,663 points and fourth all-time in three-pointers made with 269. His 1,663 points in his first three seasons at The Hall ranks sixth all-time for most points over the course of the first three seasons, trailing only Nick Werkman, Jeremy Hazell, Walter Dukes, Terry Dehere and Ken House.

Seton Hall's All-Time Haggerty Award Winners (Year & Name):
2019 - Myles Powell
2017 - Angel Delgado
2016 - Isaiah Whitehead
2004 - Andre Barrett (named co-winner)
1996 - Adrian Griffin
1994 - Arturas Karnisovas
1993 - Terry Dehere
1989 - John Morton
1988 - Mark Bryant
1982 - Dan Callandrillo
1979 - Nick Galis
1964 - Nick Werkman
1953 - Walter Dukes

No comments:

Post a Comment