Tuesday, October 2, 2018

World Golf Hall Of Fame 2019 Induction Class Finalists

Retief Goosen.

The World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum released the names of 15 finalists who will be considered for class enshrinement in 2019. The list of finalists includes men and women representing four different countries, and consists of candidates from the following four categories: Male Competitor, Female Competitor, Lifetime Achievement and Veterans.

Below is the list of finalists (listed alphabetically by category).

Male Competitor (4)
Retief Goosen, South Africa - 33 victories and a 2-time US Open champion (2001 and 2004)
Graham Marsh, Australia - 50 championships, including 20 on the PGA Tour
Corey Pavin, United States - 24 victories, 1995 U.S. Open Champ
Hal Sutton, United States - 14 titles, including 3 majors - 1983 THE PLAYERS Championship, 1983 PGA Championship, 2000 THE PLAYERS Championship

Female Competitor (5)
Susie Maxwell Berning, United States  - 11 titles, including 4 majors (1965 Western Open Championship and 3 US Open championships in 1968, 1972, 1973
Beverly Hanson, United States - 17 victories, including 3 majors
Sandra Palmer, United States -  21 victories (2 majors), 1975 LPGA Player Of The Year
Dottie Pepper, United States - 18 titles, 1992 LPGA Player Of The Year
Jan Stephenson, Australia - 20 victories, 1974 LPGA Tour Rookie Of The Year

Lifetime Achievement (3)
Peggy Kirk Bell, United States - Pioneered the first women’s professional tour with Babe Zaharias; Top 100 golf instructor who was the first female selected into Golf Magazine’s World Golf Teachers Hall of Fame; Charter member of the LPGA, 1950; Recipient of PGA of America’s First Lady Of Golf Award in 2007
Billy Payne, United States - Chairman of Augusta National, 2006-17
Dennis Walters, United States - Elite golfer who was paralyzed at the age of 24 following a golf cart accident. Since the accident he has made more than 3,000 appearances around the world, inspiring fans through golf clinics featuring trick shots and life lessons; One of only eleven honorary lifetime members of The PGA of America; Former spokesperson and national ambassador for the First Tee

Veterans (3)
Jim Ferrier, Australia - 28 victories, including 1947 PGA Championship
Catherine Lacoste, France - 1967 U.S. Women's Open Champion as an amateur
Calvin Peete, United States - 12 victories, led PGA Tour in accuracy 10 straight years

The list of finalists was handed down by a Selection Sub-Committee comprised of 20 individuals, including six World Golf Hall of Fame Members: Donna Caponi Byrnes, Juli Inkster, Hale Irwin, Nick Price, Curtis Strange and Karrie Webb. This group was responsible for overseeing the vetting process that commenced in June and culminated with the Sub-Committee’s selection of finalists that will be presented to the Selection Commission.

“The Selection Sub-Committee had a big task to complete, and every member is to be commended for their effort and commitment in choosing the 15 best candidates,” said Jack Peter, President of the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum. “We are proud of the energy and thoroughness of the voting system and eagerly await the final results, which will be announced on October 10th.”

Before gaining consideration, each finalist met the necessary qualifications in his or her respective category by way of on-course accomplishments or by significant contributions to the game. Click here to learn more about the World Golf Hall of Fame criteria for Induction.

The Selection Commission, Co-Chaired by Hall of Fame Members Nancy Lopez, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player and Annika Sorenstam will assemble next week to discuss the merits and vote on the 15 finalists. Additionally, all living Hall of Fame Members provided personal input to the Selection Commission as it relates to the group of finalists.

To be inducted, an individual must receive approval from at least 75% of the Selection Commission. This group will ultimately elect the Class of 2019, which will be inducted in Pebble Beach, California on Monday, June 10, 2019, the week of the men’s U.S. Open Championship. The Induction Ceremony will take place at the Sunset Center in Carmel-by-the-Sea.

To learn more about the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum and the Induction process, visit www.worldgolfhalloffame.org.

No comments:

Post a Comment