Saturday, June 16, 2018

Yankees OId-Timers' Day Roster & Information

Andy Pettitte was at Yankee Stadium on Friday and will be playing in the Old-Timers' Day game on Sunday. @Yankees.

The Yankees' 72nd annual Old-Timers’ Day will be held tomorrow,  Father’s Day, Sunday, June 17. This is the 10th Old-Timers’ Day at the current Yankee Stadium.

Gates open for fans with valid tickets at 10 a.m., and Old-Timers’ batting practice will be held from 10:15 – 11:15 a.m. 

Fans are asked to be in their seats at 11:30 a.m. for Old-Timers introductions.

The Old-Timers’ game will begin approximately 12:30 p.m.

First-time participants include current Yankees Manager Aaron Boone, Andy Pettitte, Jason Giambi, Nick Swisher, and Dion James.

Boone authored one of the most famous moments in Yankees history when he hit a first-pitch leadoff home run in the bottom of the 11th inning of Game 7 of the 2003 ALCS against Boston to propel the Yankees into the World Series. Boone was acquired at the trade deadline of that season, and played just 54 regular season games with the Yankees.

Pettitte, a member of the Core Four that led the Yankees to five World Series championships (1996, ’98-2000, 2009), ranks third in franchise history with 219 wins over 15 years in pinstripes (1995-2003, ‘07-10, ’12-13).

Giambi was a three-time All-Star with the Yankees (2002-04), who tallied 209 home runs, which earned him the "Giambino" moniker from John Sterling, and a .404 on-base percentage over seven seasons (2002-08) with the club.

Swisher joined the Yankees in 2009 and was a big part of their World Series championship squad. He spent four seasons in New York (2009-12), averaging 26 homers and 87 runs batted in per season.

Outfielder Dion James batted .302 with 12 homers and 79 runs batted in over parts of four seasons as a Yankee (1992-93, ’95-’96).

The Old-Timers’ Day roster will also feature Hall of Famers Whitey Ford and Reggie Jackson, along with former Yankees and current YES Network broadcasters David Cone, John Flaherty and Paul O’Neill.

Joining the Hall of Famers and former Yankees on the field will be the widows of five legendary Yankees—Arlene Howard, widow of Elston Howard; Helen Hunter, widow of Jim “Catfish” Hunter; Jill Martin, widow of Billy Martin; Diana Munson, widow of Thurman Munson; and Kay Murcer, widow of Bobby Murcer.

All of the pregame celebrations will be aired exclusively on the YES Network. The Yankees will then host the Tampa Bay Rays at 2:05 p.m., also airing on YES. 

List of those Scheduled to Attend (*first-time Old-Timer)
Jesse Barfield
Ron Blomberg
Brian Boehringer
*Aaron Boone
Jim Bouton
Scott Bradley
Dr. Bobby Brown
Homer Bush
David Cone
Johnny Damon
Ron Davis
Bucky Dent
Al Downing
Brian Doyle
Mariano Duncan
John Flaherty
Whitey Ford
*Jason Giambi
Ron Guidry
Charlie Hayes
Arlene Howard (widow)
Helen Hunter (widow)
Reggie Jackson
*Dion James
Jay Johnstone
Scott Kamieniecki
Don Larsen
Graeme Lloyd
Hector Lopez
Jill Martin (widow)
Lee Mazzilli
Ramiro Mendoza
Gene Monahan (trainer)
Diana Munson (widow)
Kay Murcer (widow)
Jeff Nelson
Paul O'Neill
*Andy Pettitte
Lou Piniella
Willie Randolph
Bobby Richardson
Mickey Rivers
*Nick Swisher
Frank Tepedino
Marcus Thames
Roy White

No comments:

Post a Comment