Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Books: "Forgive Me" By Susan Lewis


Forgive Me: The Past Doesn't Stay Hidden Forever

By Susan Lewis

William Morrow; paperback, $16.99; available Tuesday, January 26th

Susan Lewis is the internationally bestselling author of more than forty books across the genres of family drama, thriller, suspense, and crime. She is the author of My Lies, Your Lies; Just One More Day, and One Day at a Time, and One Day at a Time, the moving memoirs of her childhood in Bristol during the 1960s.

In her new book, Forgive Me, Lewis tells the spellbinding story of family and the power of forgiveness.

Archie Colbrook spends his time writing letters fro prison - letters addressed to a person against whom he committed terrible, nameless harm. 

Archie knows he doesn't deserve forgiveness. Even though he didn't mean to hurt anyone, and sure, he was only following orders. Does that ultimately matter? He still did it.

Claudia Winters, in her small coastal town in Northern England, hopes to feel safe for the first time in years after fleeing from her abusive husband with her mother and daughter. 

Their new life is supposed to be a fresh start, but Claudia knows the past won't stay hidden for long, and she can't help but feel that someone is watching her. Also, she feels that something terrible is about to happen.

Archie and Claudia's lives intertwine when they are linked by one irrevocable act of violence. Claudia can't forget what Archie did to her family, but is forgiveness the only way to truly move on?

Forgive Me is written in a very unique way, as there are chapters in Claudia's voice and others in Archie's letters to tell his tale. 

No comments:

Post a Comment